SallyP

Retroladytyping …

The big cover up

on 17/04/2016

This video was shared to my Facebook page by a friend and is the most effective way I have seen of explaining what true anxiety, rather than worrying, feels like.  Who’d have thought the ubiquitous post-it note could achieve so much.

I am not going to comment too much, apart from to say please watch it.  It speaks very effectively for itself.

There are many people out there who are experiencing anxiety and you’d never know to look at them. I bet you know someone, even if they are doing the big ‘cover-up’.  Most people do, because trying to explain and justify how you are feeling is very difficult and, usually, pointless.  Understanding and making that understanding clear to the person themselves is,  however,  very effective at relieving some of the overwhelming, suffocating power of anxiety.

I’ve been there a few times:  been a swan (serene on the surface, paddling like hell underneath to cover up the fact that I had a mental illness) and it’s incredibly exhausting.  My apparent calmness and serenity has been commented on, so I must be adept at the big cover-up.  I’m ok now, apart from the occasional reminder that it’s still there, under the surface, ready to break through and drown me.    I was, and am, lucky; I have a very understanding GP, a tolerant husband and family, as well as kind friends.  However, at the time, it felt like a very lonely experience and one which needs more understanding.  I hope this video helps to achieve that.

Please share.

https://www.facebook.com/MentalHealthOnTheMighty/?pnref=story

 

https://www.facebook.com/MentalHealthOnTheMighty/

 

3 responses to “The big cover up

  1. calmeleon says:

    Thanks for sharing this! Like you say it’s the most accurate description of anxiety! I’d love to just be able to worry about things rather than be anxious!! If it was a choice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

